Happy Night-Before-2008!

December 31, 2007

To end this year, I thought I’d post a very creative and original post.  Ha.  And some sarcasm…

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
Take the PSAT

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Ahaha, not as well as I wanted…clearly shown in the fact that I can’t really remember what they were; and yes, I will make more for 2008.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, many people.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Yes, two. One who I have known since my birth, but never knew very well. And one who I had only known for 60 days, and yet I knew her very well.

5. What countries did you visit?
US. 😀

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?
Better PSAT math scores…

7. What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
April 14, the date we found out Mom was pregnant; May 17, day I flew to Cinci.; June 14, the date we found out we lost Catherine; late October.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Mmmm, staying on track (most of the time), not getting distracted as easily by unimportant things, good PSAT Crit. reading and writing scores (I know I keep mentioning the PSATs, sorry!)

9. What was your biggest failure?
Ahh, everything that led up to the ‘melt down’ in late October.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Various caughs, sneezes, a bruised toe, the stomach flu.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Uhhh? Obviously it wasn’t that great…

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My parents’: this was a very hard year for them in some aspects and they have been strong throughout.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Mine, at times, and some people that I know and expected better of.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Worthless stuff in the larger scheme of things.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
My mom’s pregnancy, trip to Cinci., having a updated blog (hey, it’s a small victory), Aisa’s surprise trip to AZ.

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?
Lullaby, Josh Groban and As Long As We’re Together, Al Green.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
a) happier…or rather, more content; b) I think about the same, this year was pretty awful as far as my karate training went though, I think I’m more fit though; c) my family: richer, me: poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
school, karate, and writing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
time online, worrying about stupid drama.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Spent it with my family.

21. Did you fall in love in 2007?
Nope.

22. How many one-night stands?
None.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Good Eats :D, and Masterpiece Theater

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t hate anyone, but there are people who I held in higher regard last year at this time.

25. What was the best book you read?
Left to Tell, maybe,…Jane Eyre.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Gaelic Storm

27. What did you want and get?
a stronger relationship with family, a sister, joy.

28. What did you want and not get?
ahh, not sure.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?
NORTH AND SOUTH!

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 15 in June and spent most of the day at the Little League Ballpark for my brother’s last games and closing ceremonies…the next day had a quiet celebration with family.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
If Catherine wasn’t miscarried.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?
lol, I had a ‘fashion concept’…

33. What kept you sane?
prayer, family and friends.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
fancy in a ‘drool’ sort of way? …or fancy as in ‘admire their skill’? …to both I could answer Richard Armitage….:D

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
eck, this question makes me feel bad…i really didn’t pay much attention to politics this year. (note to self for 2008 resolutions)

36. Who did you miss?
Catherine, Aisa, my Aunts and Uncles and Cousins.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Catherine.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.
Focus on what is really important first, and with hard work the lesser important will fall into place.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
‘As long as we’re together! I do believe, I do believe…’

To all out there this New Years eve, I wish you a better year than before in all the aspects the past years have fallen short.  I wish you all the luck and grace in the world (and you should be wishing it for me) in 2008 to stick to any new resolutions, and continue with any old ones.  As we stumble and yet try again to continue with our resolutions, remember the words of Mark Twain…

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear.”
~Mark Twain

And to usher in 2008, I give you this pithy bit of ‘Wham!’ again from my beloved Mark Twain:

“Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.”
 

Oh, I can’t help myself….one more (yes, from Mark Twain as well):

“Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company.”

😀

Love to y’all, and good night…what’s left of it!

Devin

Leave a Reply

