10 minute Stream of Consciousness Writing pt 1

February 29, 2008

In literary criticism, stream of consciousness is a literary technique that seeks to portray an individual’s point of view by giving the written equivalent of the character’s thought processes, either in a loose interior monologue, or in connection to his or her sensory reactions to external occurrences.

Just thought I’d warn you.

Today is January the 28th, tomorrow is the 29th, I have a Frank Sinatra song stuck in my head, and the Lenten deprivation of sugar (and now wheat) is starting to get to me. Don’t say I never admitted I’m human…around sugar. 😛

Tomorrow I will take a test for my learner’s permit…pray to St. Rita for me…but from what I’ve heard learner’s permit tests range from slightly hard to just plain silly. So I’m not real worried.

My family likes to eat. Moreover we like to eat good food…not only good tasting, but good for our bodies. Does this mean we always eat wonderfully? Pssh?! I’ve already admitted I’m human…and let me tell you, my whole family is human. Recently, due to ease or carelessness or whatever, our eating habits have been slipping somewhat…and what with all the athletes running around the house and an impending surgery that will need to be recovered from, we thought it was high time to make some changes.

As of yesterday, Mom and I are off of wheat till the end of March. (Except on Sundays, ’cause every Sunday is a mini Easter!) When I was little, our whole family…well Mom, Dad, and I were off of wheat. It was most apparently helpful for my Mom, but in the end it is agreed that wheat is not best thing to be at the top of your menu and all of us benefitted. We were stark off wheat for a year and after that it was more informal.

Ah…haha, this is terrible….but I’m going to say ‘To Be Continued’ because it has been 10 minutes and I still need to take a shower.

…and here are the lyrics to the song that is (still!) stuck in my head:

Too Marvelous for Words
Frank Sinatra

You’re just too marvelous, too marvelous for words
Like “glorious”, “glamorous” and that old standby “amorous”.
It’s all too wonderful, I’ll never find the words
That say enough, tell enough, I mean they just aren’t swell enough.

You’re much too much, and just too “very, very”
To ever be in Webster’s Dictionary.
And so I’m borrowing a love song from the birds
To tell you that you’re marvelous – too marvelous for words.

[Musical interlude]

You’re much – you’re too much – and just too “very, very”
To ever be, to ever be in Webster’s Dictionary.
And so I’m borrowing a love song from the birds
To tell you that you’re marvelous;
Tell you that you’re marvelous;
Tell you that you’re marvelous – too marvelous for words.

So…until the next time I write, I bid you adieu

Leave a Reply

