Before I am sucked into the new week…

March 10, 2008

Ah well, to summarize what I was going to write as ‘continued’ for my last post: We are making adjustments to our eating…to include cutting out most wheat and sugar, being more creative with coming up with nutritional (esp. high in fiber) meals, and finding better vitamins/supplements.  (I can be concise when I need to be.)

So this is my Sunday post before the vortex/black hole otherwise known as the school week sucks me in tomorrow.

This past week has been tiring. Rather, I wasn’t able to catch up in everythings as much as hoped (especially sleep) and yet on another turn, good things happened as well: I discovered something new and exciting (to me) that is worthwhile and received encouragement when I really needed it…and made random little discoveries that made me smile.

(Here are some of the week’s highlights)

ASU has a program for student accepted into their honors college (Bartlett) where the student can complete a Bachelors degree and a Masters degree in four years. The requirements are high GPA (3.25+), good SAT/ACT scores, and something like ‘unique hobbies’ and things that show leadership qualities. This got me all excited! A goal within a goal, if I may. Lol, one of the things that popped into my head first when I was reading this is that it would save me money! And recently I really have been leaning toward the idea of going on to get a Master’s degree because, 1) it’s only two years more, 2) two more years of specialized learning…so far it only sounds like a good thing to me. Ahhh, my brain is reeling with this new thought. (This was the new and exciting thing I discovered)

New website discovered: www.etsy.com  Do not go to this website if you have little or no money…unless you have things to sell.  Just warning you.

AMAZING cookie technique:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/sweetsbyzoe/2250971384/  that Aisa and I are going to attempt to reccreate in October (oooh, I’m starting to get thrills when thinking of October, Ais!)

Oh my gosh, I found this hilarious thing when surfing some food blogs:

1. The calories don’t count if you’re standing. If you eat sitting down, you’re closer to the floor, hence gravity pulls those calories straight to your hips and thighs. Stand up and the calories slide straight down and off.

2. The calories don’t count if you eat from the container. Never, ever plate your food. That’s where the calorie compounding occurs. Take bites straight from the container. Bonus points if you don’t finish the whole thing and put it back in the refrigerator (or freezer, if you’re eating ice cream).

3. If you eat from the container while standing, you’re actually burning calories. Eating standing up and pacing is equivalent to a 20 minute aerobic workout.

3. The calories don’t count if you eat off someone else’s plate. That’s just tasting or sharing, so those calories totally don’t count.

4. Tidying calories don’t count. If you wipe up stray frosting or straighten the edge on a pie, a pan of fudge, or a cake, that doesn’t count.

4. If you take a chocolate from an assortment and don’t like the one you get, those calories don’t count. It’s just not fair that you should pay the freight for a pineapple cream when you were thinking it was maple cream. And it would be gross to spit it out. So it’s only good manners to eat it. And having the discipline to practice good manners with a mouthful of pineapple cream burns calories. So you’re almost at a negative calorie situation.

5. Grapefruit has the effect of negating calories, so whatever you eat at the same time as a grapefruit doesn’t count. The same for Diet Coke.

6. Food eaten in the car doesn’t count. You know you’re not really enjoying it.

8. Broken food has no calories. The half a cookie left on a plate is calorie free, as is the chip shards in the bottom of the potato chip bag.

I totally relate. 😀

A friend and I are planning on starting a food blog together and we are looking for a title…so I was looking up some food/cooking related quotes/sayings and found this site: http://www.quotegarden.com/food.html  I had so much fun reading through those quotes…my gosh.

I’m looking forward to:

The 2008 Civil War Ball
ASU vs. USC on 3/28 (GO ASU!!)

A new song I found:

London Calling by The Clash

London calling to the faraway towns
Now that war is declared-and battle come down
London calling to the underworld
Come out of the cupboard, all you boys and girls
London calling, now dont look at us
All that phoney beatlemania has bitten the dust
London calling, see we aint got no swing
cept for the ring of that truncheon thing

Chorus
The ice age is coming, the sun is zooming in
Engines stop running and the wheat is growing thin
A nuclear error, but I have no fear
London is drowning-and I live by the river

London calling to the imitation zone
Forget it, brother, an go it alone
London calling upon the zombies of death
Quit holding out-and draw another breath
London calling-and I dont wanna shout
But when we were talking-i saw you nodding out
London calling, see we aint got no highs
Except for that one with the yellowy eyes

Chorus

Now get this
London calling, yeah, I was there, too
An you know what they said? well, some of it was true!
London calling at the top of the dial
After all this, wont you give me a smile?

I never felt so much a like

Ehh, I believe this is all I have to report. This upcoming week looks more, dare I say it, normal…so hopefully I can blog some food during the week.

Oh, wait!  One more thing!  The Suns beat the Spurs tonight!  Yea-ah!  Oh.  My.  Gosh.  (IN YOUR FACE!)  I love sports.  And I love winning.  And I love having a huge scary man on our team.  *sigh*

Later.

One Response to “Before I am sucked into the new week…”

  1. gukkhser Says:

    Dearest Dev,

    A MD in FOUR YEARS?!?!?!?!?!? Girl, you have GOT to be kidding!!!! That’s… WOW. Ok, you have to fill me in on that one.

    Muaha, here I am browsing etsy.com. That is definitely going to be added to my blogroll under Addictive Total Time Wasters, seeing as I’m quite broke at present. 😀

    And lol. Nice find 😀 (on the calories. hilarious)

    Talk to you after Easter… *hugz*

    Love,
    Ais


Leave a Reply

