The Pursuit of Happiness: is it worthwhile?

June 10, 2008

I am at a very happy point in my life. So happy, in fact, that even when I am feeling sorrowful or lonely, I know that I am happy. So happy, that the word itself seems too shallow to describe where I am right now.

Maybe I should reword this: I am very happy, pursuing happiness.

Thomas Jefferson wrote in the Declaration of Independence,

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

I am not entitled to being happy. Good heavens, I do not deserve to be happy, but I can, and should pursue. This does not mean that because I am pursuing happiness I can’t be happy at the same time. When someone is pursuing knowledge, education, it does not mean he is stupid, in general if someone is pursuing education, they’ve already got some smarts.

So why must we always be HAPPY? When I say HAPPY I mean forced smile HAPPY, mega HAPPY, frappacappaccino HAPPY, long nights with a bottomless keg and broken promises HAPPY, ginormous diamond ring HAPPY, red sports car HAPPY, not married HAPPY, stiletto sandals HAPPY, lonely, aching, empty, searching, wounded heart but by gosh HAPPY.  …HAPPY?

…is this really what we want? If it is, yeah, I do see why we wouldn’t be happy in our pursuit. Why pursue at all? If we were to pursue, we might actually catch a glimpse of what our HAPPY is made. I came across this quote and it nearly broke my heart…and summed up our sad little world:

“The pursuit of happiness is a most ridiculous phrase: if you pursue happiness you’ll never find it.”

…so I am happy in my pursuit, because, really, it would be a sad existence if this HAPPY was all there will ever be. We will all be pursuing, whether or not we say we are, whether or not we want to be, until we have found the real, true happy…resting peacefully in God’s powerful love.

Till next time,

Devin

5 Responses to “The Pursuit of Happiness: is it worthwhile?”

  1. fiony Says:

    sound interesting!

  2. Splendor Says:

    Thank you for commenting, Fiony!

  3. stef Says:

    “So why must we always be HAPPY? When I say HAPPY I mean forced smile HAPPY, mega HAPPY, frappacappaccino HAPPY, long nights with a bottomless keg and broken promises HAPPY, ginormous diamond ring HAPPY, red sports car HAPPY, not married HAPPY, stiletto sandals HAPPY, lonely, aching, empty, searching, wounded heart but by gosh HAPPY. …HAPPY?”

    mm… i have to talk to you soon… on a slightly related subject…

  4. aisa Says:

    oh whoops! that last comment was from me, not from my mom!!!! hahahaha… sorry, dev! lol.

  5. Splendor Says:

    lol, sounds good, Ais–and YOU talk first next time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

