It is sad to grow old but nice to ripen. -Unknown

August 11, 2008

Today I start my junior year of highschool.

Pray for me.

No, just kidding. I’m actually really looking forward to this year. A lot is coming together and, knock on wood, I’m hopeful that things that didn’t ‘click’ in the past will ‘click’ this year. …and they had better click, ’cause I have a lot more work to do this year than I have in previous years.

I’m going to continue taking college classes, in the hopes of completing the AGEC-A (Arizona General Education Curriculum) by the end of my senior year so that I can enter the university as a sophomore, instead of a freshman. This fall semester I’m taking English 102 and Mathematics 092. The MAT092 doesn’t count toward the AGEC, but it is a pre-requisite for the science classes I need to take, and it will serve as a Algebra refresher.

This year my highschool classes are…

-Literature (Using TWEM method, I’ll be re-reading a few books I’ve already read twice, a few I’ve already read once, and a few that I have not read yet. 10-12 will be the total tally at the end of the year.)
-Religion (Using this text…and lots of discussion, of course.)
-Geometry (Using Teaching Textbooks.)
-Science (Focusing on Weather Science/Natural Disasters…using my Dad’s expertise and experience to enrich.)
-American Government (We still need to iron out what text and/or books we’re using for this. I’m also volunteering to help the campaign of a local politician for some real world experience.)
-Spanish (Using Rosetta Stone.)
-Karate and Dance (for P.E. Lol, I love being homeschooled.)

Overall, my goal for this year is to get as much work completed as possible, ‘ripen’, if you will, and to enjoy myself, because the truth is I only have two more years with my family.  I don’t want to miss anything because of ‘being behind in school’ or ‘being stressed over school’…my goodness, so not worth it.

One Response to “It is sad to grow old but nice to ripen. -Unknown”

  1. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

