I didn’t cry last night.

November 5, 2008

I thought I would, but I didn’t. The feeling I experienced was more that of a blanket of darkness being slowly drawn up and over my head…like a thick fog rolling in and enveloping everything in its reach.

Now my thoughts are somewhat scattered… I woke up to another day…the world is revolving just like it was last year, the mail still came, and my math homework is still due.

But things are not exactly the same.

Our new president is the most radically anti-life president the United States has ever had, our only radically anti-life president. I don’t know the amount of damage that will be done in the next four years, and I don’t want to contemplate the possibilities. I am not a fortune teller. I can’t predict the course of these next four years. I can only pray that the Holy Spirit can work through President Obama and trust that God has a plan in mind bigger than human imagining.

I remember, during the Bush administration, the people who were the “Bush Bashers.” The people who belittled those who agreed with President Bush, and rolled their eyes, and drew snide comments on the walls of bathroom stalls in rest stops. I was always a bit irritated with those people. I thought, “He’s our president – at least show respect for his authority.” Now I see why there were so many people bashing President Bush (and any other president in our nation’s history) – because it’s easy! It’s so easy to find fault with an authority figure that you in no way can understand why people wanted him to be elected. Ayyy, but I can’t do that.

Our new president is President Obama, and he deserves my respect for his authority and position. It’s similar to the fourth commandment, “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land which the Lord your God gives you” – it doesn’t say I need to agree with everything my parents believe, but they do deserve my honor, my respect. I can’t let my worry about the next four years, and dissagreement with President Obama’s politics come between me and my relationship with God, and my journey to heaven.

I’m not kidding myself…I know that more persecution and suffering for those who value life in all forms is now at hand.  Now all I can do is find ways to help those who will be suffering the most.  Earlier today I was looking for a particular saint to cry out to in this time, and I came across St. Thomas More (one of my favorites) who is the patron of politicians, and thought St. Thomas to be a fitting match for our situation. St. Thomas died because he stoically represented all that is pro-life and Catholic in a skewed political system. I found the Litany of St. Thomas More and a beautiful prayer written by St. Thomas More during the time he was imprisoned in the London Tower. As I was reading the prayer St. Thomas More wrote, that was when I teared up. Two parts in this prayer jumped out at me the most…

Give me the grace, Good Lord…

Gladly to bear my purgatory here. To be joyful in tribulations. To walk the narrow way that leads to life.

Of worldly substance, friends, liberty, life and all, to set the loss at naught, for the winning of Christ.

These words, and really, read the whole prayer, are so quietly strong. They aren’t permissive towards obvious evil, but they aren’t sinful in and of themselves. They are defensive, rather than offensive. St. Thomas More was no fool, he knew evil. He also knew how to use evil to become stronger in his faith…and because of this he is now a saint.

These next four years can be looked at in different ways. Either they can be four years of depression and resentment and seething rage that suddenly comes rushing out now and again. On the other hand, these four years can be an opportunity to grow closer to God, to pour out extra energy every day to pray…to pray for the unborn and those comfortable with abortion, for our President and his family, for all United States citizens, and that, in four years, a pro-life president will be elected.

God, bless America.

Leave a Reply

